Massage Therapy Canada

Health News
AMTA elects national board

Dec. 8, Evanston, IL – The American Massage Therapy Association (AMTA) announces the results of its 2011 national election, conducted electronically among its professional members.

December 12, 2011  By Massage Therapy Canada

Winona Bontrager of Pennsylvania was voted president-elect. She will serve in that position from March 1, 2012 through February 28, 2013 when she will assume the position of president. On March 1, 2012 current President-Elect, Cynthia Ribeiro of California, will become AMTA president. 

Rachel Mann (NC) and Jeff Smoot (OK) were elected as vice presidents and will serve two-year terms beginning March 1, 2012. 

Three Members-at-Large of the Board of Directors also were elected: John William Kelley (TX), Dolly Wallace (MI) and Richard Wedegartner (MA). 

Julie Beth Finn (MI), Lori Keith (NJ) and Mary Donker-Syvertsen (LA) were elected to the 2012 Commission on Candidacy and will coordinate the candidate search for the 2012 national AMTA election. 

A report on election results is available for AMTA members at  (Members must login to view the report.) 

Photos of those elected to the Board of Directors also soon will be available on the AMTA website at

Print this page


Stories continue below