Massage Therapy Canada

Features Continuing Education Education
National Accreditation for MT Education – Bulletin No. 2

Apr. 23, Kamloops, BC – Bulletin No. 1 announced commencement of work to create a stakeholder-driven action plan for national accreditation of massage therapy education programs.  This second bulletin is to announce that the National Accreditation Planning Committee has now been formed.

April 29, 2013  By Massage Therapy Canada

listing of committee member is as follows. 

From the:

  • Canadian Council of Massage
    Therapy Schools –  Randy
  • Canadian Massage Therapy
    Alliance –  Lori Green;
  • College of Massage Therapists
    of BC – Annette Ruitenbeek;
  • College of Massage Therapists
    of Newfoundland & Labrador – Samantha Piercey;
  • College of Massage Therapists
    of Ontario – Corinne Flitton;
  • Massage Therapists’
    Association of BC – Bodhi Haraldsson;
  • Newfoundland & Labrador
    Massage Therapists’ Association – Claudette Marie Warren;
  • Ontario Council of Private
    Massage Therapy Colleges – Brandy John;
  • Ontario Heads of Massage –
    Lori Copeland; and
  • Registered Massage
    Therapists’ Association of Ontario – Bryn Sumpton.

Committee will meet in Toronto for two days in early June. Its mandate is to
work on behalf of stakeholders to develop a plan for establishing national
accreditation, which will include:

  • the nature and governance
    structure of the new national accreditation agency;
  • proposed national standards,
    policies and procedures for accreditation;
  • administrative and support
    needs to operate accreditation;
  • identification of further
    work required, and the timeframe necessary, to commence
  • accreditation activities
    under the new agency;
  • identification of funding needs
    to establish the new agency and to undertake operations
  • until accreditation
    activities become self-sustaining on a cost-recovery basis.

committee looks forward to providing a further update in the weeks ahead.

for the consultant or the Planning Committee can be
sent by email to


Print this page


Stories continue below