Massage Therapy Canada

Health News
First board of directors for new massage therapy accreditation council announced

The Canadian Massage Therapy Council for Accreditation (CMTCA) has announced it has completed the process of identifying the members of its first board of directors.

November 18, 2014  By Massage Therapy Canada staff

The successful nominees are:

Iain Robertson, a faculty member of
Georgian College in Barrie, Ontario – as the Canadian Council of Massage
Therapy Schools nominee.

Dr. Marilynne Waithman, a public board
member with the College of Massage Therapists of British Columbia in
Vancouver – as the Federation of Massage Therapy Regulators Authorities
of Canada nominee.

Sara Sexton, a member of the Newfoundland and
Labrador Massage Therapists Association from St. John’s Newfoundland –
as the Canadian Massage Therapist Alliance nominee.


Leonard, an experienced educator with significant professional
experience in accreditation in her role with the Ontario College of
Teachers and as a board member with the Association of Accrediting
Agencies of Canada – as a “non-sector” nominee.

Gordon Griffith, a
professional engineer with strong experience and credentials in
accreditation at the national level as the director of education for
Engineers Canada.

“We received nine nominations in total for the
five available seats. All nominations were reviewed and ranked against
the published nominating criteria by an external reviewer,” according to
the CMTCA.

“We were very impressed by the demonstrated
knowledge, experience, commitment, and leadership of each individual and
thank all the nominees for participating in this important process.”

CMTCA said its immediate priority is to bring the first CMTCA board
together to discuss next steps. “We anticipate that this will take in
place in the next few weeks, after which the next CMTCA communications
will be on behalf of the new board of directors,” the agency said.


Print this page


Stories continue below