Massage Therapy Canada

Features Research
New President of Massage Therapy Foundation

March 4, Evanston, IL - The Massage Therapy Foundation Board of Trustees is proud to announce that Ruth Werner of Layton, Utah is their newly elected president. Werner’s term as president will be from March, 1, 2010 through February 28, 2012.

March 8, 2010  By Massage Therapy Canada

Werner has been a trustee
with the foundation since March 2006, most recently serving as president-elect.
She serves on several foundation committees, and in 2009, under her leadership,
the Education Committee launched a new program, “Teaching Research
Literacy: An In-Service Event for Teachers,” which provides a continuing
education opportunity for massage therapy educators and schools.

Werner is a massage therapist, writer, and educator with a
passionate interest in massage research and the role of bodywork for people who
struggle with health. Her ground-breaking textbook, A Massage Therapist’s Guide to
 was first
published in 1998; keeping it current is now her main occupation. In addition,
she writes a column for Massage
and Bodywork 
magazine and
teaches continuing education workshops all over the country. She has
volunteered for the Utah Department of Public Licensing, the American Massage
Therapy Association (AMTA), the National Certifying Board for Therapeutic
Massage and Bodywork, and the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards. Ruth
was extremely honored to be selected for the AMTA Council of Schools Teacher of
the Year Award for 2005.



Werner will succeed Diana Thompson, who served as
President of the Massage Therapy Foundation since March 2006.  Thompson
will remain on the Board of Trustees and will serve as Immediate Past


The Massage Therapy
Foundation is a 501(c)3 public charity, with a mission to advance the knowledge
and practice of massage therapy by supporting scientific research, education,
and community service.  For more information on the Foundation, please

Print this page


Stories continue below